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Rule 172 

 

EXPEDITED JUDICIAL PROCESS; SUPPORT; VISITATION 

 

(a) Hearing Officer; Appointment. To increase effectiveness in sup-

port, visitation, and parentage proceedings, the chief judge in each 

judicial district may appoint a judge of the district court, a court trus-

tee, or an attorney licensed to practice law in the state of Kansas to 

preside as a hearing officer at a summary hearing on: 

(1) the establishment, modification, or enforcement of support (un-

der the Kansas Parentage Act, K.S.A. 23-2201 et seq.; the Uni-

form Interstate Family Support Act, K.S.A. 23-36,101 et seq.; 

K.S.A. 39-718b; K.S.A. 39-755; K.S.A. 23-3001 to 23-3006; 

K.S.A. 38-2242; K.S.A. 38-2243; K.S.A. 38-2264; and the In-

come Withholding Act, K.S.A. 23-3101 et seq.); and 

(2) the modification or enforcement of parent visitation rights and 

parenting time. 

(b) Hearing Officer; Judge Pro Tem. On approval by a judicial dis-

trict’s departmental justice, the chief judge of the district may ap-

point a hearing officer who is not a judge of the district court as a 

judge pro tem. A judge pro tem. appointed under this provision has 

jurisdiction and full authority to preside over matters within the 

scope of this rule unless the order of appointment imposes limita-

tions.   

(c) Hearing Officer; Authority. A hearing officer appointed under 

subsection (a) is authorized to: 

(1) take testimony; 

(2) evaluate evidence and decide the most expeditious manner to 

establish, modify, or enforce a court order; 

(3) accept voluntary acknowledgment of support liability and a 

stipulated agreement setting the amount of support to be paid; 

(4) accept voluntary acknowledgment of parentage;  

(5) modify and enforce visitation or parenting time; 

(6) prepare written findings of fact and conclusions of law; and 

(7) issue an order, including a default order, but an order proposed 

by a hearing officer who is not a judge of the district court and 

has not been appointed as a judge pro tem. under subsection (b) 

must be approved by a judge before the order is entered. 

(d) Hearing to Contest Income Withholding Order. If an obligor 

contests an income withholding order, a hearing officer appointed 

under subsection (a) must: 

(1) set a hearing at which the obligor may assert any affirmative 

defense authorized by K.S.A. 23-3106; and  
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(2) no later than 45 days after notice of delinquency to the obligor, 

issue a decision on whether to withhold income. 

(e) Support or Maintenance Order Requirements. A support or 

maintenance order must specify the payment period, such as 

monthly or weekly, and the date by which the first payment must be 

made. 

(f) Support Obligation; Time Frame. The chief judge must monitor 

cases subject to expedited judicial process to ensure that an action 

to establish, modify, or enforce a support obligation is completed—

from filing to disposition—within the following time frames: 

(1) 90% in 90 days. 

(2) 98% in 180 days. 

(3) 100% in 365 days. 

(g)  Parentage; Time Frame. The chief judge must monitor cases sub-

ject to expedited judicial process to ensure that an action to establish 

parentage and a support obligation is completed—from filing to dis-

position—within the following time frames: 

(1) 75% in 270 days. 

(2) 85% in 365 days. 

(3) 90% in 455 days. 

(h) Review of Hearing Officer Order. An order of a hearing officer—

other than a district judge—appointed under this rule is subject to 

review by a district judge on a party’s motion filed no later than 14 

days after the order is entered. The district judge will review the 

transcript or a recording of the hearing and admitted exhibits and, 

applying an abuse of discretion standard, may affirm, reverse, or 

modify an order. If a transcript is not available, the district judge 

will conduct a de novo proceeding. 

[History: New rule effective July 29, 1985; Am. effective July 1, 1994; 

Am. effective September 8, 2006; Am. (h) effective July 1, 2010; Am. 

effective May 18, 2011; Am. effective September 15, 2011; Rule re-

styled and amended effective July 1, 2012.] 

 


