Rule 217
SUBPOENA

(a) Imvestigation. During an investigation conducted under these rules
or a compliance examination conducted under Rule 236, the disci-
plinary administrator may issue a subpoena to compel the attend-
ance of a witness or the production of pertinent books, papers, doc-
uments, and electronically stored information before the disciplinary
administrator or an investigator.

Formal Hearing.

(b)
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Disciplinary Administrator’s Evidence. The disciplinary ad-
ministrator may compel the attendance of a witness or the pro-
duction of pertinent books, papers, documents, and electroni-
cally stored information at a formal hearing by issuing a sub-
poena and serving it no later than 21 days before the hearing.
Respondent’s Evidence. A respondent may compel the attend-
ance of a witness or the production of pertinent books, papers,
documents, and electronically stored information at a formal
hearing by obtaining a subpoena from the presiding officer. The
respondent must request the subpoena in writing at least 30 days
before the hearing. The respondent must serve the subpoena no
later than 21 days before the hearing.

Service, Fees, and Mileage.

(A) Location. Service of a subpoena may be made anywhere
within Kansas.

(B) Attendance Fee and Mileage. If the subpoena requires at-
tendance of a witness, the subpoena must be accompanied
by the mileage allowed by law, unless waived by the wit-
ness.

(C) Payment of Necessary Expenses.

(1) The disciplinary administrator must pay from the dis-
ciplinary fee fund the expenses for necessary travel,
meals, and lodging of a witness called by the discipli-
nary administrator.

(i1) The respondent must pay the expenses for necessary
travel, meals, and lodging of a witness called by the
respondent.

Quashing or Modifying Subpoena.

(A) When Required. On motion filed no later than 14 days af-
ter service of a subpoena, the hearing panel will quash or
modify the subpoena under the following circumstances:
(1) 1ifit fails to allow a reasonable time for compliance;



(©)

(d)

(i1) ifitrequires disclosure of privileged or other protected
matter and no exception or waiver applies; or
(iii) if it subjects a person to undue burden.

(B) When Permitted. On motion filed no later than 14 days
after service of a subpoena, the hearing panel may quash or
modify the subpoena if it requires disclosure of the follow-
ing:

(i) a trade secret or other confidential research develop-
ment or commercial information; or

(i1) an unretained expert’s opinion or information not de-
scribing specific events or occurrences in dispute and
resulting from the expert’s study made not at the re-
quest of any party.

(C) Appearance by Telephone or Video. On motion filed no
later than 14 days after service of a subpoena on a witness,
the hearing panel may permit the witness to appear by tel-
ephone or video.

Enforcement of Subpoena. In accordance with K.S.A. 20-1204a,
the Supreme Court may hold in contempt a person who, having been
served, fails without adequate excuse to obey the subpoena.
Reciprocal Subpoena. When a subpoena is sought in Kansas by a
disciplinary authority of another jurisdiction for use in an attorney
disciplinary investigation or proceeding and counsel for the discipli-
nary authority certifies that issuance of the subpoena has been ap-
proved under the law of the other jurisdiction, the Board chair, on
petition for good cause, may issue a subpoena to compel the attend-
ance of a witness or the production of pertinent books, papers, doc-
uments, and electronically stored information in the county where
the witness or custodian resides or is employed, or elsewhere as
agreed to by the witness or custodian. The person or entity seeking
the subpoena must pay the witness’ mileage expenses allowed by
Kansas law and must pay the witness’ actual and necessary expenses
for travel, meals, and lodging.

[History: New rule adopted effective January 1, 2021.]



