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Rule 219 
 

CRIMINAL CHARGE; CONVICTION 
 

(a) Definitions.  

(1) “Conviction” means the following: 

(A) a finding based on a plea or trial that a person is guilty of a 

felony or misdemeanor; or 

(B) entry by a person into a diversion agreement or other com-

parable disposition for a felony or misdemeanor charge.  

(2) “Felony crime or a crime mandating registration as an offender” 

means the following: 

(A) a crime classified as a felony; 

(B)  a crime mandating registration by the defendant as an of-

fender under the Kansas Offender Registration Act 

(KORA), K.S.A. 22-4901 et seq.; or  

(C)  a comparable offense in any jurisdiction that if committed 

in Kansas would constitute a felony or mandate registration 

under KORA. 

(3) “Reportable crime” means the following: 

(A) a felony crime or a crime mandating registration as an of-

fender; or  

(B) a class A or B misdemeanor or an offense of comparable 

classification.  

(b) Deferral. If a criminal action is pending based on substantially sim-

ilar allegations as a disciplinary matter, the following provisions will 

apply.  

(1) The investigation of an initial complaint or a report will not be 

deferred unless the disciplinary administrator authorizes defer-

ral. 

(2) The investigation of a docketed complaint and prosecution of a 

formal complaint will not be deferred unless the review com-

mittee, hearing panel, or Supreme Court authorizes deferral.  

(c) Attorney’s Duty When Charged with Reportable Crime. An at-

torney who has been charged with a reportable crime must notify the 

disciplinary administrator in writing of the charge and court of ju-

risdiction no later than 14 days after the charge is filed.  

(d) Attorney’s Duty Upon Conviction. An attorney who has been con-

victed of a reportable crime must notify the disciplinary administra-

tor in writing of the conviction and court of jurisdiction no later than 

14 days after the conviction. The pendency of sentencing or the fil-

ing of a notice of appeal, a motion for new trial, or a motion for other 

relief does not stay the reporting requirement. 
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(e) Duty of Clerk of Court. The clerk of any Kansas court in which an 

attorney is convicted of a reportable crime must notify the discipli-

nary administrator in writing of the conviction no later than 14 days 

after the conviction.  

(f) Conviction is Conclusive Evidence. A certified copy of a judgment 

of conviction of a respondent for a reportable crime is conclusive 

evidence of the commission of that crime. The respondent may not 

present evidence that the respondent is not guilty of the crime.  

(g) Automatic Temporary Suspension.  

(1) Disciplinary Administrator’s Duties. When the disciplinary 

administrator receives notice that an attorney has been con-

victed of a felony crime or a crime mandating registration as an 

offender, the disciplinary administrator must commence a dis-

ciplinary board proceeding and file with the Supreme Court an 

ex parte motion for temporary suspension of the attorney’s li-

cense to practice law. The disciplinary administrator must at-

tach evidence of the conviction to the motion.  

(2) Supreme Court Order. After the filing of a motion under sub-

section (g)(1), the Supreme Court will issue an order temporar-

ily suspending the respondent from the practice of law until fi-

nal disposition of the disciplinary board proceeding. The filing 

of a notice of appeal, a motion for new trial, or a motion for 

other relief does not stay a temporary order of suspension.  

(3) Notice to Respondent. The clerk of the appellate courts will 

provide the respondent with a copy of the Supreme Court’s or-

der.  

(4) Respondent’s Duties. After receipt of the order, the respondent 

must comply with Rule 231.  

(h) Temporary Suspension Following Conviction of Other Crime. 

This rule does not preclude the disciplinary administrator from seek-

ing the temporary suspension under Rule 213 of a respondent for the 

conviction of a reportable crime. 

(i) Motion to Vacate Order of Temporary Suspension.  

(1)  A respondent may file with the Supreme Court a motion to va-

cate an order of temporary suspension for good cause or be-

cause a court reversed the conviction that was the basis of the 

temporary suspension. The respondent must attach a certified 

copy of the judgment reversing the conviction.  

(2) The respondent must serve the disciplinary administrator with 

a copy of the motion.  

(3) A Supreme Court order vacating a temporary order of suspen-

sion does not terminate the disciplinary board proceedings.  
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(j) Disciplinary Board Proceeding. A disciplinary board proceeding 

arising out of a conviction for a crime will proceed the same as any 

other matter under these rules.  

[History: New rule adopted effective January 1, 2021.] 

 


