(@)

(b)

(©)

(d)

(€)

Rule 804
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

Credit Hours. An active attorney must earn a minimum of 12 CLE
credit hours at approved programs during each compliance period.
Of the 12 hours, at least 2 hours must be in the area of ethics and
professionalism.
Carryover Credit. An active attorney may complete CLE credit
hours at approved programs during a compliance period that exceed
the number of credit hours required by subsection (a). To carry over
the credit hours to the next compliance period, the attorney must
comply with the requirements of Rule 808. The following provisions
apply to carryover credit.

(1) An active attorney may carry over up to 10 unused general at-
tendance CLE credit hours.

(2) An active attorney may carry over ethics and professionalism
CLE credit hours as general attendance CLE credit hours but
not as ethics and professionalism CLE credit hours.

(3) An active attorney cannot carry over CLE credit hours earned
for teaching, authorship, or attendance at a law practice man-
agement program.

Reporting. A provider or individual attorney must report CLE

credit hours at an approved program as required under Rule 806 and

in the form and manner prescribed by OJA.

Exemptions. The following attorneys are exempt from the CLE re-

quirement in subsection (a):

(1) an attorney newly admitted to practice law in Kansas until the
beginning of the first compliance period following admission to
practice;

(2) an attorney registered under Rule 206 as inactive, retired, or
disabled due to mental or physical disability; and

(3) an active or retired federal or state judge or justice, bankruptcy
judge, or full-time magistrate of the United States District Court
for the District of Kansas who is not engaged in the practice of
law, but a federal or state administrative judge is not eligible for
this exemption.

Exception for Good Cause. The Board may grant an exception to

the strict requirement to complete continuing legal education in any

compliance period because of good cause, such as disability or hard-
ship. The following provisions apply.

(1) An attorney must submit a written request for an exception to
OJA with a detailed explanation of the circumstances necessi-
tating the request.



(2) The Board must review and approve or disapprove a request for
an exception on an individual basis.

(F) Legislative Service. Upon a written request submitted to OJA, an
attorney serving in the Kansas Legislature will receive a reduction
of 6 of the 10 general attendance CLE credit hours required for the
compliance period in which the attorney serves in the Legislature.

[History: New rule adopted effective July 1, 2011; Am. (b) effective

July 1, 2011; Am. (g) effective November 8, 2011; Am. (d) effective

August 24, 2012; Am. effective July 1, 2017; Am. effective October 2,

2019; Rule 803 renumbered to Rule 804 and Am. effective April 2, 2021;

Am. effective June 1, 2021; Am. effective July 1, 2022.]



https://www.kscourts.org/KSCourts/media/KsCourts/Orders/2021-RL-026.pdf?ext=.pdf
https://www.kscourts.org/KSCourts/media/KsCourts/Orders/2021-RL-062.pdf?ext=.pdf
https://www.kscourts.org/KSCourts/media/KsCourts/Orders/2022-RL-056.pdf?ext=.pdf

